Travelling from the Pacific

Information about travelling to New Zealand from, or through, a Pacific country.

Visa applications open for travellers located in Pacific countries

From 16 May 2022 you can apply for a visitor visa to travel to New Zealand, but only if you are applying from one these Pacific Island Forum countries:

  • the Cook Islands
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Kiribati
  • New Caledonia
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

You can apply if you are a citizen of another country. But you must be applying from one of these Pacific Island forum countries.

Your application will need to be submitted online.

Apply for a visitor visa

Travel conditions

People coming from most Pacific countries need to be eligible to travel to New Zealand. Eligible travellers include:

  • New Zealand citizens or residents
  • Australian citizens or permanent residents
  • people who have a border exception, or
  • people who are exempt from the border restrictions.

If you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident you do not need a critical purpose reason to travel here.

If you are coming from the Cook Islands or Niue you can apply for an NZeTA , if you are a visa waiver traveller, or any visa:


Visitor visas

Work visas

Student visas

Family visas

Transiting or flying directly

You need to fly directly from your country of origin if it has direct flights to New Zealand.

If you do not have direct flights you must transit through another test-free Pacific Island country, otherwise you need to test when you arrive.

You must also:

  • have been in your country of origin or another test-free Pacific country, including NZ, for at least 14 days before you travel
  • be fully vaccinated, and
  • meet all the health requirements for NZ arrivals when you get here.

Travel with the Pacific Islands |

COVID-19 testing when you arrive in New Zealand

You no longer need to self-isolate when you arrive from any country if you are fully vaccinated. Depending on which Pacific country you are travelling from you may need to take a rapid antigen test (RAT) for COVID-19 on arrival, and 5 days after that. 

Countries that do not need to test on arrival

You can currently travel to New Zealand test-free from:

  • Tokelau
  • Niue
  • Nauru

Countries that need to test

You will need to have a rapid antigen test when you arrive, and another 5 days after that, if you are travelling from:

  • American Samoa
  • Cook Islands
  • the Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Samoa

Travel from the Pacific Islands