Sharing applications

You can share online visa applications with other people you work with to assist your clients’ applications.

This is usually done by licensed immigration advisers (LIAs) and lawyers who share applications within their organisation or group so they can work efficiently. 

The way to share applications in Immigration Online is changing. While we update our systems, there will be 2 ways to share a visa application depending on the type of visa you are applying for and when the application was made.

You may need to use 2 accounts while we move applications to the enhanced system. You will continue to have access to documents in both accounts.

Sharing in the existing Immigration Online system

In the existing Immigration Online sharing groups are called firms.

To share applications with your firm, you first need to inform Immigration Online that you are using your account to assist clients. You can do this when you first create an account, or editing your profile by ticking the box next to the text ‘I would like to use this account to manage client applications made by my firm’.

Once your account is set up, you will be able to create firms as required. These may be made to suit applications of a common type or purpose. Choose a suitable name when creating a firm.

The creator of the firm will initially be assigned as the administrator, who can manage the firm. Administrators can invite and remove other users from the firm, and also provide other members with admin permissions.

Sharing in the enhanced Immigration Online system

In the enhanced Immigration Online system, organisations who work with applicants can create ‘networks’ of people to work on their clients’ applications.

Creating networks using the updated sharing functionality

LIAs and other users can still create networks to work collaboratively on visa applications.

To do this, each user must have an account in the enhanced Immigration Online system.

An administrator will ask for the sharing IDs and emails of each person they wish to add to the network. The administrator can assign administration rights to other members of the network. Only administrators can add or remove people from the network.

Once the network is established, any member of the network can share an application they are working on to the others in the network. Members of the network can work on the application collaboratively, and will have the ability to view, edit, withdraw, submit or share the application (including outside of the network), and view any notifications related to the application.