Transit visa waiver countries

Citizens of some countries do not have to apply for a visa before passing through New Zealand as a transit passenger but must request an NZeTA.

In transit through New Zealand

If you are passing through Auckland International Airport on your way to another country you do not have to apply for a visa if you are from a transit visa waiver country.

You have to request an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) before you travel.

Information about NZeTA

List of transit visa waiver countries 

  • Bahamas
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Indonesia
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Marshall Islands
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela