Who is involved?

Welcoming Communities Te Waharoa ki ngā Hapori is led by Immigration New Zealand (INZ) in collaboration with the Ministry for Ethnic Communities, along with the Human Rights Commission.

From the far north to the deep south, councils and communities across Aotearoa New Zealand are doing their part to make the places they love, more welcoming and inclusive for everyone.

Below is a list of councils currently taking part in Welcoming Communities.

North Island — Te Ika-a-Māui

  • Whangārei District Council
  • Kaipara District Council
  • Auckland Council
    • Whau Local Board
    • Kaipātiki Local Board
    • Puketāpapa Local Board
    • Albert-Eden Local Board
    • Ōtara-Papatoetoe Local Board
  • Hamilton City Council
  • Tauranga City Council
  • Western Bay of Plenty District Council
  • Rotorua Lakes Council
  • Hastings District Council
  • Napier City Council
  • Palmerston North City Council
  • Manawatū District Council
  • Whanganui District Council
  • Rangitīkei District Council
  • Horowhenua District Council
  • Masterton District Council
  • South Wairarapa District Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • Hutt City Council

South Island — Te Waipounamu

  • Christchurch City Council
  • Nelson City Council
  • Tasman District Council
  • Marlborough District Council
  • Ashburton District Council
  • Selwyn District Council
  • Hurunui District Council
  • Timaru District Council
  • Waimakariri District Council
  • Queenstown Lakes District Council
  • Central Otago District Council
  • Westland District Council
  • Waitaki District Council
  • Gore District Council
  • Invercargill City Council
  • Southland District Council


Council landing pages

Welcoming Communities | Tauranga

Welcoming Communities | Western Bay of Plenty

Welcoming Communities | Whanganui

Welcoming Communities | Palmerston North

Welcoming Communities | Ashburton District

Welcoming Communities | Selwyn District

Welcoming Communities | Southland

Welcoming Communities | Central Otago

Welcoming Communities | Hamilton

Welcoming Communities | Queenstown Lakes

Welcoming Communities | Rotorua Lakes

Welcoming Communities | Horowhenua

Welcoming Communities | Rangitīkei

Welcoming Communities | Marlborough

Welcoming Communities | Tasman

Welcoming Communities | Hastings

Welcoming Communities | Gore

Welcoming Communities | South Wairarapa

Welcoming Communities coordinators

Check our Welcoming Communities coordinators page to find out who your local coordinator is.

Meet your coordinators