News centre

Two more Councils gain accreditation as a Committed Welcoming Communities

Immigration New Zealand (INZ) commends the Queenstown Lakes and Central Otago District Councils for achieving a significant milestone in the Welcoming Communities programme.

17 February 2022
1 minute read

Both Councils and their communities have been formally accredited as Committed Welcoming Communities. 

The accreditation recognises that the communities value newcomers. They are committed to building welcoming and inclusive communities. It also acknowledges that they have taken active steps to create an environment where all residents can thrive and belong. 

Welcoming Communities members 

Queenstown Lakes and Central Otago District Councils join nine other participants in the programme that have achieved accreditation under the four-stages of accreditation: Committed, Established, Advanced and Excelling.

  • Tauranga City Council
  • Western Bay of Plenty District Council
  • Palmerston North City Council
  • Ashburton District Council
  • Gore District Council
  • Invercargill City Council
  • Southland District Council
  • Whanganui District Council
  • Selwyn District Council

You can find more details about the Welcoming Communities programme and its work on the INZ website:

Welcoming Communities