News centre

Hamilton gains accreditation as a Committed Welcoming Community

Immigration New Zealand (INZ) is congratulating the Hamilton City Council for achieving a significant milestone in the Welcoming Communities programme.

28 April 2022
1 minute read

The Council and its community have been formally accredited as a Committed Welcoming Community under the INZ-led Welcoming Communities programme. 

This step recognises that Hamilton values newcomers and is committed to building a welcoming and inclusive community. It also acknowledges the active steps Hamilton has taken to create an environment where everyone can thrive and belong. 

Welcoming Communities Members

There are currently 18 Councils part of the Welcoming Communities programme. Hamilton joins the ranks of 11 other communities in the programme to have achieved accreditation status under the four-stages of accreditation: Committed, Established, Advanced and Excelling.

  • Tauranga City Council                 
  • Western Bay of Plenty District Council 
  • Palmerston North City Council  
  • Ashburton District Council         
  • Gore District Council                   
  • Invercargill City Council
  • Southland District Council           
  • Whanganui District Council
  • Selwyn District Council                
  • Central Otago District Council
  • Queenstown Lakes District Council

You can find more details about the Welcoming Communities programme and its work by following the link below.

More information about the Welcoming Communities programme