News centre

Four more councils gain accreditation as Committed Welcoming Communities

Immigration New Zealand (INZ) commends the Timaru District Council, Marlborough District Council, Kaipara District Council, Tasman District Council, and their communities for reaching the first major accreditation milestone of the Welcoming Communities programme.

1 February 2024
2 minute read

Four more councils and their communities are now formally accredited as a ‘Committed Welcoming Community', which is stage 1 of accreditation in the INZ led Welcoming Communities programme — Te Waharoa ki ngā Hapor.

There are 4 stages of accreditation for this programme:

  • Stage 1 — a Committed Welcoming Community
  • Stage 2 — an Established Welcoming Community
  • Stage 3 — an Advanced Welcoming Community
  • Stage 4 — an Excelling Welcoming Community.

Accreditation recognises that these councils and their communities’ value newcomers to New Zealand. It also acknowledges that the region is committed to building a welcoming and inclusive community and is taking active steps to create an environment where everyone can thrive and belong.

Welcoming Communities members 

There are currently 35 councils, 5 local community boards, 3 mana whenua partners and their associated communities in the Welcoming Communities programme.

Timaru, Marlborough, Kaipara, and Tasman join 14 other communities in the programme to have achieved accreditation status under the 4 stages of accreditation. Table 1 shows those 14 councils and their accreditation stage.

Welcoming Communities members and their accreditation stage
Welcoming Communities members Accreditation stage
Tauranga City Council Stage 2
Western Bay of Plenty District Council Stage 2
Palmerston North City Council Stage 2
Ashburton District Council Stage 2
Gore District Council Stage 2
Invercargill City Council Stage 2
Southland District Council Stage 1
Whanganui District Council Stage 2 
Selwyn District Council Stage 1
Central Otago District Council Stage 1
Queenstown Lakes District Council Stage 1
Hamilton Council Stage 1
Rangitīkei District Council Stage 1
Hastings District Council Stage 1

Welcoming Communities