These are archived immigration instructions that are no longer current

Previous Topic

Next Topic

New Zealand (07/11/2011)

Qualifications listed on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) are assessed as follows:

Register Level

Skilled Migrant Category Points Value

Register level 10

60 Points

Register level 9

60 Points

Register level 8

50 Points

Register level 7

50 Points

Register level 6

40 Points

Register level 5

40 Points

Register level 4

40 Points (only National Certificates or New Zealand Certificates that are relevant to an occupation in part B or part C of the List of Skilled Occupations held at Appendix 6 of the Operational Manual and not included on the list of Excluded Qualifications (see SM14.10.5))

Register level 3, 4, 5 or 6

50 points (only where the requirements at SM14.10.1 are met)

Applicants with New Zealand qualifications should provide evidence of the Register level of that qualification by submitting a 'Qualification Overview' report with their qualification. The NZQF is available online. To check the level and status of a New Zealand qualification visit

Effective 07/11/2011


New Zealand (28/08/2017)

New Zealand (25/07/2011)

New Zealand (29/11/2010)

Top of page | Print this page