

VISA PAK ISSUE 445 — 07 AUGUST 2020 EXPECTATIONS FOR ALL COMMUNICATION WITH ELECTORATE AGENTS

Members of Parliament (MPs) Electorate Agents play an important function in the immigration system as they are often approached by visa applicants or migrants who have immigration related queries or need assistance with their application, such as but not limited to an endorsement letter from an MP in support of their visa application. It is understood that for some Electorate offices, immigration related queries take up a considerable amount of time and equate to a large proportion of their workload.

Sector Engagement and Education (SEE) will hold the primary relationship with this sector. They will be involved in a number of engagement activities throughout the year. The Relationship Managers will also work with wider INZ to coordinate and deliver annual training workshops.

Border and Visa Operations offices play a key role in supporting Electorate Agents and their offices in providing services to people who approach them regarding immigration related queries. INZ offices and Technical Advisors will be the main points of contact for specific queries irrespective of specialisation and product function in the office.

In order to maintain a consistent approach and high quality of service, INZ will commit to the following:

- All communication must be responded to within standard timeframes and any delay in providing a response or related information must be acknowledged, along with the reason for the delay.
- All communication must be recorded in AMS, where there is a client number or application number associated. This is
 especially crucial to ensure consistency and ease of access where the point of contact is a generic email inbox as
 opposed to a specific person.
- Electorate Agents will contact their nearest office, regardless of specialisation and product function. It will be up to the office and/ or the contact person to respond to the query. The regional split will be as below:

INZ Office	Region
Manukau	South Auckland, Central Auckland, East Auckland
Henderson	North Harbour, West Auckland, Northland
Hamilton	Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne
Palmerston North	Taranaki, Manawatu, Wanganui
Porirua	Wellington, Wairarapa, Hawke's Bay
Christchurch	South Island

