Welcoming Communities Te Waharoa ki ngā Hapori

Welcoming Communities - Te Waharoa ki ngā Hapori - is a two-year pilot programme that brings local government and community leaders together to make the places we love more welcoming for everyone.

Councils in five regions are working with their communities to pilot Welcoming Communities, which puts out the welcome mat to newcomers including migrants, former refugees and international students.

The pilot councils and communities taking part are:

  • Tauranga/Western Bay of Plenty (Tauranga City Council and Western Bay of Plenty District Council)
  • Southland (Gore District Council, Invercargill City Council and Southland District Council – coordinated through Venture Southland)
  • Whanganui (Whanganui District Council)
  • Palmerston North (Palmerston North City Council)
  • Canterbury (represented by Ashburton and Selwyn District Councils).

Communities that make newcomers feel welcome are likely to enjoy better social outcomes, greater social cohesion and stronger economic growth. Building connections between locals and newcomers means everyone feels included and knows they belong.

The programme is a standard-based initiative of Immigration New Zealand (INZ), working in partnership with the Office of Ethnic Communities, the Department of Internal Affairs and the Human Rights Commission.

Welcoming Communities