News centre

Updates to the List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment 17 November 2016

On 5 December 2016, the List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment (Appendix 3) will be updated.

It is recommended that people in the following situations check the updated lists as the changes might impact whether they can claim points for their qualifications without an individual assessment from the New Zealand Qualifications Authority:

  • those intending to complete an Expression of Interest under Skilled Migrant Category instructions
  • those who have already submitted an Expression of Interest
  • those who have been invited to apply for residence.

People affected should apply to NZQA to have their qualifications assessed. They should also update their Expressions of Interest accordingly, or contact the Immigration Contact Centre if they have any concerns.

List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment (Appendix 3)

The following country lists in Appendix 3 will be updated:

  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • South Pacific
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan

The changes include:

  • Addition and removal of qualifications
  • Addition and removal of institutions
  • Changes to qualification levels
  • Changes to qualification awarding dates.

The updated lists effective from 5 December 2016 are included in Amendment Circular 2016-08.

Amendment Circular 2016-08 PDF 788KB