News centre

New members for Welcoming Communities Thursday, 25 March 2021

Immigration New Zealand (INZ) is delighted to see new members join the Welcoming Communities programme.

Following an Expressions of Interest (EOI) process, three new Councils and regions are joining the programme designed to create inclusive environments where all residents can thrive and belong. 

The Hamilton City Council, the Horowhenua District Council, and the Masterton District Council are the new additions to the programme. 

It means there are now 13 Councils and nine regions across New Zealand that are part of Welcoming Communities. 

Fiona Whiteridge, Immigration New Zealand’s General Manager of Refugee and Migrant Services, says having them on board is great for Welcoming Communities, but even better for the regions involved. 

“The Welcoming Communities programme has been instrumental in building links in communities and promoting diversity and inclusion. Making newcomers welcome and included, be they migrants or Kiwis who are shifting towns, can only make our communities stronger”.

The next steps will see INZ work with the new participants to help them meet the standards required to achieve formal Welcoming Communities accreditation. You can find out more about this, and the support provided on the INZ website. 

Welcoming Communities